top of page

Adventures In Key West: The Arrival

So the adventure was set to begin and it was a long time in the coming but everything worked out perfectly to bring me to this place I found myself at that moment. I plan on writing about one of the things God showed me in Scriptures in more detail in another blog, but as I was getting ready to head out to this adventure God showed me how things in my past that I thought were awful and terrible were actually exactly what was needed in order for me to be where I was to walk out into this new adventure. I'd be lying if I said I wasn't nervous or had anxiety because I definitely did. I haven't traveled much in my life and I have never traveled alone, so all of this was new to me.


Because of the issues I deal with that I have written about concerning Shame, I was exceedingly nervous to go alone. In my head I was constantly hearing, you can't do this, you can't go alone, you’re going to mess this up, you are going to miss your flight, something bad is going to happen, you're going to get hurt, something is going to happen at home and you won't be there ect ect ect. This is what plays in my head regularly. I have been bombarded with so much negativity by people who were supposed to be supporting and uplifting me that my default mentality is you are going to screw it up and something bad is going to happen. That has been a driving force in my life, but this adventure was part of the healing process, to go out and see if I was able to do these things alone. To see if I could enjoy things, to see if life would blow up around me because I went and attempted something fun by myself without others input or permission.


So the first step was getting everything planned and organized. I had an idea of what I wanted to do on this trip. The most favorite thing I have ever done in my life was when I went to Key West and went snorkeling. We chartered a boat and went to 3 places 2 in the Gulf and 1 in the Atlantic and it was amazing, so much fun. It was my desire since that moment to go do it again, so I knew that this vacation would be centered around one thing, snorkeling!!!


I would say it took me about 2 weeks of research and battling my conscience to finally pull the trigger. I found a great deal to a really highly rated place right next to the main street (Duvall St) in Key West, with flight and car included, after talking to my GM she let me take off the time and I hit enter and sealed the deal. In a few days I would be Key West bound!!!


I have to say that even the fact that I was able to get the time off is miraculous, I have recently started this job, and most people know it is basically impossible to take a vacation when you are brand new at the job. My GM however is one of the coolest people I have ever worked for and she has known my situation and immediately was like, look you deserve a break go for it! Not only did she allow me the time off, the policy at my work changed literally a few days before I left. I was about to go on vacation but not be paid for it, but instead since the policy changed I was getting paid for it as well!!!


It all came together perfectly and I still can't believe how amazingly that all worked out. So I got everything packed and then came the day, I headed out for the airport to catch my first flight to Charlotte.





I had a short layover in Charlotte and then caught my next flight, Key West here I come!!!






Getting off the plane it was humid, and that is saying something coming from a guy who lives in one of the most humid places ever in Cincinnati, but man that humidity hit like a right from Tyson lol. Then you walk into the airport and it was definitely not what I was expecting. By this I mean it was tiny, like exceedingly tiny. As you can see lol





So I get the key to my rental car and my bags and head outside and was greeted instantly by one of the local residents of Key West!!!






They are called Gypsy Chickens by locals and I will tell you, they are EVERYWHERE!!! You can't go a block without running into them. I thought they were cool, but I also was only there for a week and could totally understand how they would get annoying if you lived there. Here is a link if you want to learn more about them and how they got there.


So the trip from the airport to my residences for the next week was super short, only 10 minutes. I made a pit stop at a few stores to get some pop and towels for the rest of the week, then made my way to the place I was staying. It is called the Douglas House and it has rave reviews on Tripadvisor and Google. I was greeted by an extremely nice gentleman, given a quick tour of the grounds and told where to park. If you have never been to Key West I highly suggest that you make sure that your hotel or wherever you are staying provides parking as it is very very limited. I checked to make sure parking was included, some places either have no parking so you have to drive everywhere to find a spot or they charge an insane price on top of their normal fee (think $30-$50 per day!!).








Also if you are planning on staying in Key West and not traveling much if anywhere outside of Key West then you honestly don't need to even rent a car. You can Uber to your hotel and then rent either a bike or scooter to get you around the island. I needed a car because I was traveling off of the island but if I ever go back and only stay in Key West I won't get a car, you seriously don't need it.


So after checking out the new digs, getting settled in it was out onto Duval Street to see what that was like and head out towards the Ocean to see my first sunset.





The Sunset was a bit obscured by clouds as would be the refrain for the whole week, it seemed like clouds would roll in right at the end of the day and block one of those picture perfect Key West Sunsets. It was still an awesome sight to behold the sun setting down there, so pretty!!!


After the Sunset it was over to Conch Republic Seafood Company that was on the Historic Seaport Harbor Walk. I went because I read how amazing and world renown their Conch Fritters were but sadly they were out by the time I arrived. It was all good though because I was able to get me some delicious Baked Oysters Callaloo for starters and then had Local Snapper Fillet for the main course. They both were absolutely amazing, I would recommend 100%. After dinner it was across the street to one of the most well known places in Key West for dessert, Kermits!! It's not a Key West dinner without Key Lime Pie and Kermits had the best I have ever had!! They offered it as you normally would have it as a slice of pie and then they also have it frozen and then covered in chocolate!! Personally I liked the slice the best, but both were scrumptious!!






So after a wonderful Sunset, delicious meal and the best Key Lime Pie of my life I took a stroll back down Duval to my new spot. It was beautiful out, perfect weather not too hot, not cold, the humidity calmed down, it was gorgeous!!! I took in more of the shops in Duval and then headed into my room. It was a long day and I needed to get some rest for the real adventure that would begin in the morning. Here's to a great night of sleep and one of the best days of my life!! I'll see you tomorrow and go over the wonderful and amazing day I was to have during my 2nd day in Paradise in Key West!!!


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page